Specialty that deals with the diagnosis and treatment of diseases and disorders of the eye.

Department of Ophthalmology at M.V.J

The Department has a well equipped Eye centre catering to a large number of patients.

The OPD complex have requisite number of Consultation chambers, a dark room, a refraction room, an Indirect Ophthalmoscope room and a Minor Operation Theatre. The complex also has an airy teaching room with a well-stocked library. It is equipped with state of the art equipment including Slit lamps, Keratometer, Ultrasound Biometry, Applanation and Indentation Tonometers.

The Department conducts Specialty clinics for Contact Lenses, Glaucoma Screening and Diabetic Retinopathy. Screening of school children for Refractive Errors and other eye ailments are performed regularly.

The Operation Theatre is provided with a Takagi OM-10 Operating Microscope which helps perform all kinds of major Ophthalmic surgeries & Phacoemulsification. The Hospital has been registered by the District Blindness Control Society as a Base Hospital, to conduct free Eye Camps and Surgery. It conducts regular camps in the nearby villages and selected cases are operated upon in the hospital with excellent results.

The Department is in the process of further upgrading the facilities to perform Retinal Surgeries.

Faculty List
Name of the staff
Date of Joining
Date of Promotion
Attendance of June 2019
Dr. (Brig) Vijay Kumar Srivastava MBBS, MS – Ophthalmology Professor & HOD 05.04.2016 _ 30 days
Dr. Sujatha V. MBBS, MS – Ophthalmology Professor 05.03.2007 From Assistant Professor to Associate Professor w.e.f. 05.05.2012 and from Associate Professor to Professor w.e.f. 27.07.2015 30 days
Dr. Pallavi.B.A MBBS, DOMS DNB Assistant Professor 30.12.2011 From Senior Resident to Assistant Professor w.e.f. 01.08.2015 30 days
Dr. Chaitra. S MBBS, MS – Ophthalmology Senior Resident 11.02.2019 - 30 days
Dr. Ramya R. Nadig MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 30.05.2017 _ 30 days
Dr. Ch Aparna Ramarao MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 2/5/2016 _
Dr. Vidya Nair MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 29-05-2017 _
Dr. M.K. Prashul Payi MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 10.05.2018 _ 29 days
Dr. Gowthami .V.N MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 11.05.2018 _ 30 days
Dr. Shifa Anjum M MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 19.05.2018 _ 28 days
Dr. Nusrat Faruque MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 18.05.2018 _ 29 days
Dr. Dharshana T MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 22..05.2019 _ 29vdays
Dr, Nayana V Gowda MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 22..05.2019 _ 30 days
Dr. Noor Ayesha MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 22..05.2019 _ 29 days
Dr. P Sharon Rebecca MBBS PG cum Junior Resident 22..05.2019 _ 30 days